Why A Good Working Relationship with Your Physician Is Important

6 Comments

 “What we have now is doctors who are actually better technically at Image result for dr ozwhat they’re doing in their specialty than 30 or 40 years ago, but we lost the relationship, when the doctor would look people in the eye and say ‘I care about you. We can do this together.'” Mehmet Oz

One of the biggest challenges I face in my practice as a physician is cultivating an effective partnership with my patients. Treating medical problems involves both a “superficial” and “inner” communication. Superficial is the doctor telling the patient to do certain things, such as lose weight or take a particular medication. This is akin to instruction.

The more difficult communication is the “inner” one where a connection occurs with the patient. In a sense, I need to connect with that person’s spirit and show them a way to get where they would like to go. When I don’t see results from a particular treatment, one explanation is often the inner issues that “block” them from following through.

smiling patientHere are some tips for those frustrated when they go to the doctor’s office.

  1. Come prepared. This means not only having medication lists handy, but also coming mentally prepared with questions.
  2. Have a positive attitude. Nobody ever rockets straight upwards without getting off track. The key is sticking to it and believing in yourself. A previous blog explored “Be Set Free Fast” to cue your subconscious to improve self-confidence.
  3. Be open with your doctor. I help my patients best when I know where they’re coming from.
  4. Ask questions. This can be done during step 1. There are never any silly questions, only the ones you don’t ask.
  5. Understand what you want out of your health. What goals do you have? Do you want to have more energy? Tell your physician so he/she can lead you to your goals.

The most important thing is to work with your physician. Think of him as your coach, like athletes have, not a doctor. Coaches work with their clients to help them achieve their best. That’s what I want to do for my patients.

What do you look for in a doctor?

6 thoughts on “Why A Good Working Relationship with Your Physician Is Important

  1. I look for a doctor that listens to me and whose practice of medicine is motivated by an urge to heal rather than a desire to avoid lawsuit.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed this article. Do you think one reason that doctors have limited the personal connection is that people don’t listen? For instance, a doctor tells a patient several times it is imperative that they lose weight and take care of themselves, but the patient does nothing. Eventually the doctor develops the attitude “Why should I worry about you when you don’t care enough to care for yourself?” I could understand doctor’s reluctance to get “involved.” Just a thought…

    Like

  3. Having endured more than 10 surgeries in my life and having had many different doctors, I can honestly say that having a connection with your physician is imperative. It takes both patient and physician to connect and to grow the relationship. For the most part, I have been blessed with amazing doctors with whom I have connected, but I have had a few that for one reason or another, there was little connection. I think it’s wonderful that you have this attitude towards your patients. They are very lucky to have a doctor such as you. I am sure that it is frustrating on the doctor’s part when the patient isn’t complying with suggestions/advice. To look someone in the eye and to really listen is a gift. Great post! Glad I found you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

